Weekend Bonus: Damnation Alley

DAMNATION ALLEY COVER ART REVIEW
When I was looking for covers to post in my review of Roger Zelazny’s Damnation Alley, I came across over ten different covers with unique art, and almost all of them were fabulous, so I thought I would display them all here:

damnation-alley-6.jpg

If the mood of the book matched this, I would definitely have used it first. However, this is much more of an alien world vibe than a shattered earth vibe.

damnation-alley-3.jpg

Again, we have a masterpiece here. Make sure to pay attention to the small details: the broken road; the cockroach in the foreground; the giant armored insects in the background; the ruins looming in the fog; the black/red background/font colors, and the stylish slashing font of the book’s name…

damnation-alley.jpg

… and here we have a much different view, of a hellscape engulfed in flame. I like the destroyed traffic light, and we can see the important twisters wreaking havoc in the background. I feel the reddish pallor cast over the scene is too intense, though, and the title’s font, while inventive, resembles fur more than fire.

damnation-alley-2.jpg

There are some bits with motorcycles, but most of the book actually takes place in the battle-car. Pass. Also, what’s with the green fields in the background? Get with the times: Earth is an irradiated wasteland.

damnation-alley-4.jpg

This is a pretty sweet vehicle, but I don’t think it bears much relationship to the monster battlecar in the book. The mood is additionally much more “belter asteroid chaos death match” instead of “a race across apocalyptic earth.”damnation-alley-5.jpg

Hmmm, I like it, but this is much more terraforming equipment and much less mobile death messenger car.

damnation-alley-11.jpg

Mmm, still not quite right. Also, that snake is like WHAT.

damnation-alley-7.jpg

Huh. Nice font, but I am not so sure about the robed guy. I mean, that is like one scene. And I dunno about the book portraying Hell Tanner; not what I pictured.

damnation-alley-9.jpg

I am also not really sure how I feel about that one. Also, this novel didn’t seem particularly “Berkeley” to me, but sure, I guess.

damnation-alley-10.jpg

The mood on this is definitely way off from the actual feel of the novel. What is all that yellow doing there?

damnation-alley-12.JPG

Now THAT was unexpected! Definitely like the scale of it all, although I feel it’s not faithful to the book, and Hell Tanner most definitely looks not like the Hell Tanner I had in my head, and instead like some ex-military badass commando, but this cover is pretty amazing. Just not really for this book, I guess.

damnation-alley-8.jpg

. . .

wut

Leave a Reply

